When autocomplete results are available use up and down arrows to review and enter to select. Touch device users, explore by touch or with swipe gestures.

Historical Fiction

Collection by Bedford Borough and Central Bedfordshire Libraries • Last updated 4 weeks ago

35 
Pins
 • 
314 
Followers

The best of recent historical fiction in our libraries

Bedford Borough and Central Bedfordshire Libraries
The breakout Roman historical thriller from Harry Sidebottom about a war hero who returns home to a series of brutal murders Oracle Book, Book 1, This Book, Kindle, Psychological Effects, Day Work, Historical Fiction, Fiction Books, Bestselling Author

The Return

The breakout Roman historical thriller from Harry Sidebottom about a war hero who returns home to a series of brutal murders

In a thrilling new adventure in Simon Scarrow's acclaimed Eagles of the Empire series, battle-scarred veterans of the Roman army Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro return to Rome Bernard Cornwell, Empire, The Restless, The Sunday Times, Books To Read Online, Insurgent, Historical Fiction, Bestselling Author, Book Authors

The Emperor's Exile

In a thrilling new adventure in Simon Scarrow's acclaimed Eagles of the Empire series, battle-scarred veterans of the Roman army Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro return to Rome

An intoxicating novel that tells the story of Charlotte Lucas, who marries the unfortunate Mr Collins after Lizzy Bennet spurns him, this beautifully told story of marriage, duty and friendship follows Charlotte's story from where Pride and Prejudice ends Bennet Sisters, Mr Collins, Unexpected Love, Pride And Prejudice, Married Life, Historical Fiction, The Only Way, Jane Austen, Charlotte

Charlotte

An intoxicating novel that tells the story of Charlotte Lucas, who marries the unfortunate Mr Collins after Lizzy Bennet spurns him, this beautifully told story of marriage, duty and friendship follows Charlotte's story from where Pride and Prejudice ends

The beautifully wrought new novel from Kate Grenville tells a story of passion and resilience, giving voice to a woman silenced by history Good Books, Books To Read, Penal Colony, John Macarthur, Dark Places, Historical Fiction, Fiction Books, Devon, Decoration

A Room Made of Leaves

The beautifully wrought new novel from Kate Grenville tells a story of passion and resilience, giving voice to a woman silenced by history

War Lord by Bernard Cornwell is the epic conclusion to the bestselling Last Kingdon series. In the most terrible battle Britain has ever experienced, with the kingdom’s future resting on a knife edge, Uhtred takes his stand on one side of the shield wall. Only fate will decide the outcome The Last Kingdom Series, Uhtred Of Bebbanburg, Bernard Cornwell, Eye Of The Storm, Epic Story, Historical Fiction, New Woman, Rage, Best Sellers

War Lord

War Lord by Bernard Cornwell is the epic conclusion to the bestselling Last Kingdon series. In the most terrible battle Britain has ever experienced, with the kingdom’s future resting on a knife edge, Uhtred takes his stand on one side of the shield wall. Only fate will decide the outcome

Stunning new fiction from Bridget Collins, author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Binding Books To Read Online, Reading Online, New Books, Good Books, First Novel, Betrayal, Bestselling Author, Audio Books, This Book

The Betrayals

Stunning new fiction from Bridget Collins, author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Binding

Winner of the Women's prize for Fiction 2020, Hamnet is a novel inspired by the son of a famous playwright, a boy whose life has been all but forgotten but whose name was given to one of the most celebrated plays ever written Famous Playwrights, Maggie O Farrell, British Books, Extraordinary People, Historical Fiction, Book Collection, Fiction Books, The Guardian, Best Sellers

Hamnet

Winner of the Women's prize for Fiction 2020, Hamnet is a novel inspired by the son of a famous playwright, a boy whose life has been all but forgotten but whose name was given to one of the most celebrated plays ever written

Bestselling author Anne O'Brien returns with the forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York, a strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war Duchess Of York, Duke Of York, Historical Romance, Historical Fiction, Family Betrayal, Philippa Gregory, Wars Of The Roses, The Sunday Times, Deceit

The Queen's Rival

Bestselling author Anne O'Brien returns with the forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York, a strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war

Featuring two of the most famous battles of the Ancient World, The Gates of Athens is a bravura piece of storytelling about a people driven to preserve their freedom at any cost, the first book in Conn Iggulden's new Athenian series Library Catalog, Online Library, Historical Fiction, Athens, Preserve, Storytelling, Gate, Freedom, World

Gates of Athens

Featuring two of the most famous battles of the Ancient World, The Gates of Athens is a bravura piece of storytelling about a people driven to preserve their freedom at any cost, the first book in Conn Iggulden's new Athenian series

Based on a literary mystery that has long puzzled biographers and academics, Miss Austen is a wonderfully original and emotionally complex novel about the loves and lives of sisters Cassandra and Jane Austen Famous Sisters, The Sunday Times, Best Novels, Historical Fiction, Fiction Books, Book Worms, Best Sellers, This Book, Livres

Miss Austen

Based on a literary mystery that has long puzzled biographers and academics, Miss Austen is a wonderfully original and emotionally complex novel about the loves and lives of sisters Cassandra and Jane Austen

A rip-roaring epic novel of one of history’s greatest warriors by the Sunday Times bestselling author Ben Kane Historical Fiction Novels, Historical Romance, Great Warriors, September, The Sunday Times, Gifts For Father, Book Recommendations, Book Format, Bestselling Author

Lion Heart

A rip-roaring epic novel of one of history’s greatest warriors by the Sunday Times bestselling author Ben Kane

The Lady of the Ravens inhabits the squalid streets of Tudor London, the imposing walls of its most fearsome fortress and the glamorous court of a kingdom in crisis Book 1, This Book, Elizabeth Of York, Black Brows, Historical Fiction Novels, Raven Queen, Tower Of London, Art Programs, My Books

The lady of the Ravens

The Lady of the Ravens inhabits the squalid streets of Tudor London, the imposing walls of its most fearsome fortress and the glamorous court of a kingdom in crisis

For fans of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Janice Hadlow’s first novel tells Mary Bennet’s story Mary Bennet, Philippa Gregory, Ian Mcewan, Great British Bake Off, King George, Jane Austen, Bbc, Bennet Sisters, Mr Collins

The Other Bennet Sister

For fans of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Janice Hadlow’s first novel tells Mary Bennet’s story

The second in a series about the last great hero of ancient Greece, from the king of historical fiction Library Catalog, Online Library, Ancient Greece, Historical Fiction, The Conjuring, Two By Two, Greek, Hero, Christian

The Last Greek

The second in a series about the last great hero of ancient Greece, from the king of historical fiction

From 'one of the finest historical fiction writers in the world' (Ben Kane) comes a brand new series about the last great hero of ancient Greece Online Library, Achilles, God Of War, Historical Fiction, Military History, The Conjuring, Bestselling Author, Storytelling, In The Heights

The New Achilles

From 'one of the finest historical fiction writers in the world' (Ben Kane) comes a brand new series about the last great hero of ancient Greece

The first in a rich historical trilogy that draws on legend by Lars Mytting, author of The Sixteen Trees of the Somme Historical Fiction Books, Literary Fiction, Norwegian Wood, Ring True, First Novel, Nonfiction Books, Book Lists, My Books

The Bell in the Lake

The first in a rich historical trilogy that draws on legend by Lars Mytting, author of The Sixteen Trees of the Somme