Wall Book Club Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline Thursday, February 20 at 7:00 pm Wall Township Branch

52 books, 52 weeks, Week 17: Riding the Orphan Train

Orphan Train: A Novel: Christina Baker Kline: A Pinner says.never knew about the orphan trains until reading this book, although very sad, I loved this.

The #1 New York Times Bestseller Christina Baker Kline's Orphan Train is an unforgettable story of friendship and second chances that highlights a little-known but historically significant movement in

Orphan Train

The New York Times Bestseller Now featuring a sneak peek at Christina's forthcoming novel A Piece of the World, coming February Christina Baker Kline’s Orphan Train is an unforgettable story

Orphan Train by Kristina Baker Klein is a powerful novel of upheaval and resilience, of unexpected friendship, and of the secrets we carry that keep us from finding out who we are.

13 Books That Aren't on High School Reading Lists — But Should Be

Penny's Review of Orphan Train. A wonderful read!

Book Review: Orphan Train

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. Penobscot Indian Molly Ayer is close to 'aging out' out of the foster care system. A community service position helping an elderly woman clean out her home is the only thing keeping Molly out of juvie and worse.

Orphan Train....amazing story that tells of how during the years of 1854-1929 a train transported children who were orphans across country to live lives of servitude. So captivating to learn what happened to these children at this time in history that I knew nothing about. Sad... Loved the book!

Orphan Train

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline A fiction story based on true events. The story goes back and forth between an older woman who was on the orphan train, and a teen girl who is in the foster children system. Very well written!

Some Orphan Train children were not so fortunate, and their lives became more miserable as they found themselves in homes where they were used chiefly for slave labor. In 1927, Nebraska and Kansas still allowed indenture of children.

READ-Orphan Train History - these children truly were victims.lost parents, heritage, sold to the highest bidder across the states.

Map of where Orphan Train Children where distributed. Mostly in Iowa, Illinois, Michigan and Missouri.

The Orphan Train was a movement that started in 1854 by the New York Foundling Hospital and the Children's Aid Society. In 1872 the Foundling Hospital began sending children under the age four on the "baby train." The train placed orphans and ho.

In 1853, a minister named Charles Loring Brace started the orphan train.  Brace believed that farmers would welcome homeless children, take them into their homes, and treat them as their own.  So he rounded up the kids, got parental permission when he needed it, and took the city kids to the country.  Between 1854 and 1929, the trains took over 100,000 children to adoptive parents in 47 states and Canada.    On the orphan train (image here):

The orphan trains operated between 1853 and relocating about orphaned, abandoned, or homeless children.

The Last Orphan Train: An Epic Story of Despair, Rage, Hope, and Courage

The Last Orphan Train: An Epic Story of Despair, Rage, Hope, and Courage (Paperback)

"Before We Were Yours" by Lisa Wingate: Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Learning that her grandmother was a victim of the corrupt Tennessee Children's Home Society, attorney and aspiring politician Avery Stafford delves into her family's past and begins to wonder if some things are best kept secret.

13 Books That Should Be on Every High School Reading List

13 Books That Aren't on High School Reading Lists — But Should Be

13 Books That Aren't on High School Reading Lists — But Should Be The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini Reasons to add it to the curriculum: The plight.

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline: Check out our staff review (http://blogs.jocolibrary.org/staffpicks/06/2013/lewise/12135/), read the book, and listen to this interesting NPR author interview.

After Tragedy, Young Girl Shipped West On 'Orphan Train'

November Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. Historical fiction narrated by a fictional old woman based on true part of American history.

Orphan Train - A Little Known Slice of American History

Orphan Train - A Little Known Slice of American History

Orphan Train was an engaging book right from the beginning. Loved the connection between the two main characters and their stories. Always like books based on historical events.

Pinterest
Search