Artists

Collection by Wendy Flemming

10 
Pins
The Boy, Eric Ravilious - probably quite hard work at the time, desperately romantic now.

Eric Ravilious, Official War Artist

Official War Artist, Eric Ravilious, biography and paintings

ART & ARTISTS: Eric Ravilious

Eric Ravilious – part 1

Eric Ravilious in 1939 photo by Serge Chermayeff Eric Ravilious (1903 – 1942) was an English painter, wood-engraver and designer. He was educated at Eastbourne School of Art and then at the Royal College of Art (1922–5), where he was taught by Paul Nash and became close friends with Edward Bawden. His early works included the refectory mural (destr. 1940) in Morley College, London, and wood engravings in the tradition of Bewick for the Golden Cockerel, Curwen and Nonesuch presses. In the…

Tirzah Garwood’s embroidery Vegetable Garden, circa 1933

Glimpses of bohemian life in rural Essex

Long Live Great Bardfield: The Autobiography of Tirzah Garwood 1908-51 is the latest in a distinguished line of books from Simon Lawrence’s Fleece Press. The design and workmanship are, as ever

'The Red Cottage' by Eric Ravilious, 1927 (watercolour over graphite)

'The Red Cottage' by Eric Ravilious, 1927 (watercolour over graphite)

Eric Ravilious: 'Church Army Wagon', 1935 (unfinished)

Church Army Wagon (unfinished) (Eric Ravilious - )

Eric Ravilious: 'Church Army Wagon', 1935 (unfinished)

The Birthday Feast Peggy Angus

Angus, Peggy, 1904–1993

Discover artworks, explore venues and meet artists. Art UK is the online home for every public collection in the UK. Featuring 250,000 artworks by over 45,000 artists.

Eric Ravilious, Train Landscape, 1939 (Aberdeen Art Gallery)

James Russell

I write in a personal, entertaining way about 20th century British artists, including Ravilious & Paul Nash, & about the places that inspired them.

Check it out!

Val Hudson oil and wax paintings and prints

Val Hudson abstract landscape paintings in oil and wax, prints and cards. Val is based in Derbyshire.