Pinterest

Explore Villa Design, Granada, and more!

Victorian Architecture | Newburyport Preservation Trust

The Victorian category of domestic architecture encompasses a number of elaborately ornamented building styles that came into fashion during the reign of England's Queen Victoria

open-plan living area in the West London home of Emma Minford and Paul Slade   architects Stiff & Trevillion

Interiors: Tough with the smooth

open-plan living area in the West London home of Emma Minford and Paul Slade architects Stiff & Trevillion

Riverside Drive, NY

Riverside Drive Mansions by Riverside Drive (at right) & 360 Riverside Drive (at left) across from Street-Both Mansions designed by the same arch't: Frank Freeman

Lauderdale Homestead, Alfredton (Ballarat), was built for John 'Jock' Winter in 1863 to the design of J.A. Doane. Winter arrived with his family from Scotland in 1841; he and his sons became extraordinarily successful pastoralists. 'Jock' became Ballarat's first millionaire after gold was found on one of his properties. He retired to Lauderdale, dying there in 1875. His slate-roofed, bluestone homestead with its distinctive columns and unusual bracketed eaves, is now surrounded by suburbia.

Lauderdale Homestead, Alfredton (Ballarat), was built for John 'Jock' Winter in 1863 to the design of J.A. Doane. Winter arrived with his family from Scotland in 1841; he and his sons became extraordinarily successful pastoralists. 'Jock' became Ballarat's first millionaire after gold was found on one of his properties. He retired to Lauderdale, dying there in 1875. His slate-roofed, bluestone homestead with its distinctive columns and unusual bracketed eaves, is now surrounded by suburbia.

Eeyeuk, Terang, is a pastoral run established by Dr MacFarlane and sold in 1867 to Colac district pioneer Alexander Dennis of Tarndwarncoort. Sons Alexander and Richard Dennis leased the run and, in 1874, Alexander (Jnr) engaged self-trained Colac architect Alexander Hamilton, in his first major commission, to design a substantial two-storey homestead with slate roof and single-storey verandah. Martin and Heard, Geelong contractors, erected the conservative Italianate house from locally…

Eeyeuk, Terang, is a pastoral run established by Dr MacFarlane and sold in 1867 to Colac district pioneer Alexander Dennis of Tarndwarncoort. Sons Alexander and Richard Dennis leased the run and, in 1874, Alexander (Jnr) engaged self-trained Colac architect Alexander Hamilton, in his first major commission, to design a substantial two-storey homestead with slate roof and single-storey verandah. Martin and Heard, Geelong contractors, erected the conservative Italianate house from locally…

Kolor Homestead, Penshurst (279km W of Melbourne), sits beneath the twin volcanic cones of Mt Rouse and is one of the most picturesque homesteads in the Western District. A large bluestone villa with bluestone outbuildings, it is set in a well-established garden with extended parkland. In 1838, John Cox took up the Mount Rouse run which was to become Kolor. The government soon evicted him to set up the Mount Rouse Aboriginal Protectorate comprising 100 sq miles centred on the mountain. But…

Kolor Homestead, Penshurst (279km W of Melbourne), sits beneath the twin volcanic cones of Mt Rouse and is one of the most picturesque homesteads in the Western District. A large bluestone villa with bluestone outbuildings, it is set in a well-established garden with extended parkland. In 1838, John Cox took up the Mount Rouse run which was to become Kolor. The government soon evicted him to set up the Mount Rouse Aboriginal Protectorate comprising 100 sq miles centred on the mountain. But…

Mount Fyans, Dundonnell (202km W of Melbourne), was taken up in 1841 by Lachlan Mackinnon then purchased in 1856 by William Cumming. In 1883 he commissioned architect Andrew Kerr to design the expansive rendered bluestone homestead with its fine portico, 21m hallway and eight bedrooms. It stayed in the Cumming family until 1933. In c1991 it was purchased by the eccentric Earl of Stradbroke who, in 2016, sold the 5908 hectare property to a Chinese company for $34million.

Mount Fyans, Dundonnell (202km W of Melbourne), was taken up in 1841 by Lachlan Mackinnon then purchased in 1856 by William Cumming. In 1883 he commissioned architect Andrew Kerr to design the expansive rendered bluestone homestead with its fine portico, 21m hallway and eight bedrooms. It stayed in the Cumming family until 1933. In c1991 it was purchased by the eccentric Earl of Stradbroke who, in 2016, sold the 5908 hectare property to a Chinese company for $34million.

Golf Hill Station, Shelford, is one of the oldest pastoral properties in Victoria, being founded in 1836 by the Clyde Company, a Scottish Tasmanian syndicate under the control of manager George Russell. In 1851-58 Russell acquired the homestead freehold and in 1876 demolished the first brick house of 1846 to erect a large two storey bluestone mansion. It was designed by popular Melbourne architects, Smith and Johnson, in French Second Empire style - a style very rare in domestic architecture…

Golf Hill Station, Shelford, is one of the oldest pastoral properties in Victoria, being founded in 1836 by the Clyde Company, a Scottish Tasmanian syndicate under the control of manager George Russell. In Russell acquired the homestead freehold a