Explore these ideas and more!

Explore related topics

The first library was located in the Marvel Building, referred to today as the Larmore building, directly across from the Post Office.

The first library was located in the Marvel Building, referred to today as the Larmore building, directly across from the Post Office.

Delmar Public Library, almost done! 1982.

Delmar Public Library, almost done! 1982.

Delmar Public Library, under construction in 1982.

Delmar Public Library, under construction in 1982.

Delmar Public Library, under construction in 1982.

Delmar Public Library, under construction in 1982.

Delmar residents lining up to see the new Library, June 1982.

Delmar residents lining up to see the new Library, June 1982.

St. Stephens United Methodist Church Community Center, State Street, Delmar, DE. The Library's home from 1970 until 1982.

St. Stephens United Methodist Church Community Center, State Street, Delmar, DE. The Library's home from 1970 until 1982.

Friends of the Library at Day in the Park 1983.

Friends of the Library at Day in the Park 1983.

Delmar Public Library Director, Mrs. Carol Fitzgerald.

Delmar Public Library Director, Mrs. Carol Fitzgerald.

The first Delmar Public Library in 1940. Front row, left to right: Library Commissioner Frank Baker, Mayor Lockerman, President of the Library Commission Mrs. Ellis and Library Commissioner Dr. S. Howard Lynch.  Top row, left to right: Librarian Mrs. Frank Baker and Commissioner Cecil Ford, Principal of Delmar Schools. Library Commissioner Dr. H.E. Lecates was unable to attend.

The first Delmar Public Library in 1940. Front row, left to right: Library Commissioner Frank Baker, Mayor Lockerman, President of the Library Commission Mrs. Ellis and Library Commissioner Dr. S. Howard Lynch. Top row, left to right: Librarian Mrs. Frank Baker and Commissioner Cecil Ford, Principal of Delmar Schools. Library Commissioner Dr. H.E. Lecates was unable to attend.

Madeline Hudson and Dot Wolfgang lend a hand at the front desk.

Madeline Hudson and Dot Wolfgang lend a hand at the front desk.

Some of the instrumental people in the growth of the library From left to right: Madeline Hudson; Carol Fitzgerald, Library Director; L. Stanley Dashiell; Ruth Ellis; Dr. Wayne Bastian; and Jean Ellis.

Some of the instrumental people in the growth of the library From left to right: Madeline Hudson; Carol Fitzgerald, Library Director; L. Stanley Dashiell; Ruth Ellis; Dr. Wayne Bastian; and Jean Ellis.

Santa visits all the good girls and boys at the library.

Santa visits all the good girls and boys at the library.

Llamas in the library: a children's program!

Llamas in the library: a children's program!

A Delmar Public Library Dedication program, June 27, 1982.

A Delmar Public Library Dedication program, June 27, 1982.

A donation by Grover LeCates, who hand-carved the engine, car, and tracks. One of 4 models, all handmade by Mr. LeCates, on display in the Library.

A donation by Grover LeCates, who hand-carved the engine, car, and tracks. One of 4 models, all handmade by Mr. LeCates, on display in the Library.

Volunteers help with face painting.

Volunteers help with face painting.

Pinterest
Search